statutory authorities

Australian Charities and Not-for-profits Commission (ACNC) 

The national regulator of charities. It maintains a searchable database of registered charities in Australia.

Australian Competition and Consumer Commission (ACCC) 

Promoting competition and fair trade, it is responsible to ensure compliance with Australian competition, fair trading, and consumer protection laws – in particular the Competition and Consumer Act 2010.

Australian Financial Security Authority (AFSA) 

The government agency responsible for the administration and regulation of personal insolvency. Its website includes a register of personal insolvency information.

Australian Prudential Regulation Authority 

The authority oversees various financial organisations, including insurance companies and most members of the superannuation industry.

Australian Public Service Commission 

The commission ensures the capability and sustainability of the Australian public service.

Australian Securities and Investments Commission (ASIC) 

The regulator of financial services organisations and professionals, including those dealing with and advising on superannuation and insurance.

Australian Taxation Office (ATO)

Australia’s principal revenue collection agency that manages tax, excise and superannuation systems.

Fair Work Commission

Australia’s national workplace relations tribunal.

Fair Work Ombudsman

Information and advice about Australia’s workplace rights and rules for employers, employees and contractors.

Intellectual Property Australia 

The government agency responsible for granting rights in patents, trademarks, designs and plant breeding.

Office of the Australian Information Commissioner (OAIC) 

Responsible for administering the Privacy Act, which includes complaint handling, policy advice and education.

Standard Business Reporting (SBR) 

Information on SBR-enabled software to reduce the burden of reporting for businesses.

more articles about: business directory